The Five-Year-Old Heard Gunshots, Then She Saw Her Parents Lying Dead With a Bullet on The Floor

The tragic case of the Hernlens

Lioness Rue
4 min readMar 18, 2023
Image by karlyukav — Freepik

Five-year-old Tia walked into her parents’ room.

She saw blood and a bullet on the floor. She called her mom and dad, but they didn’t answer.

Tia called 911.

Dispatcher: 911. Where’s your emergency?

Tia: Um, Hello.

Dispatcher: Hello. Is everything ok?

Tia: My mommy and daddy

Dispatcher: Uh-huh?!

Tia: I think there’s a bullet on the floor… And there’s blood coming out of my dad’s mouth and he fell off the bed.

Dispatcher: He did. Where’s mommy at?

Tia: I don’t know. I think they’re dead

Dispatcher: What do you mean sweetheart?

Tia: I don’t know… There’s blood.There’s blood on the plant and blood on the floor…I said mommy, daddy, and they didn’t even answer.

Tia Was a Five Year Old

Tia Hernlen was a five-year-old girl born to Aeneas Hernlen and Julie Hernlen.

The family lived in Daytona Beach, Florida, USA.

--

--